Simon Carroll, Johnnie Burn AMPS, Tarn Willers AMPS, Mateusz Stasuak
Photo: Charlie Burgio Photography


Some news items are only available to logged in Members.

< Back to News

1917 wins AMPS Film Sound Award: AMPS Members honoured.

Tuesday, 21st January 2020

 The first world war epic 1917 has won the 7th AMPS Awards: Excellence in Sound for a Feature Film. Congratulations to the winners: Stuart Wilson AMPS, Hugh Sherlock, Rachael Tate, Thomas Fennell, Oliver Tarney AMPS and Mark Taylor. The soundtrack for this immersive drama that leads the viewer through the trenches and battlefields of northern France, maintains the tension and emotions throughout this groundbreaking film, gripping audiences worldwide. 

AMPS Awards recognise the value of clear intelligible dialogue in a Feature Film or Television Drama, so in addition to the traditional heads of department, we also honour Key Sound 1st Assistants (Boom Operators) and Supervising Dialogue/ADR Editors. Reflecting the importance AMPS attaches to the acquisition, editing and mixing of the spoken words.

The whole team can be truly proud of their combined professional talent. 1917 has also won the MPSE Golden Reel Outstanding Achievement in Sound Editing – Dialogue/ADR, and is nominated for Sound in the BAFTAs and OSCARS. We wish them success in those final ballots.

The AMPS Awards Group

AMPS Awards are sponsored by Dolby, Sennheiser and Twickenham Film Studios.


Keep up to date with all the latest News from AMPS and its Members.


Keep track of all AMPS Events, along with other relevant dates for you diary.


AMPS financial and industry supporters help make up our Sustaining Members.


View our Library - Recorded Events, technical papers, video, audio and more.


See a list of items for Sales and Wants by Members.

© 2015 The Association of Motion Picture Sound

Design by Blade Design Ltd. // Build & CMS by E-Simplistic Ltd


Please DO NOT send unsolicited information.

Email me a copy

*- required information


Membership Card

For Administrative reasons, your online Membership Card will not be available until 1st March 2024.
If you need a new card before this date, please contact

Forgotten Your Username or Password?

Please enter your username or email address below and we will email you your login details.