Simon Carroll, Johnnie Burn AMPS, Tarn Willers AMPS, Mateusz Stasuak
Photo: Charlie Burgio Photography


Some news items are only available to logged in Members.

< Back to News

6th AMPS TV Drama Award for Excellence in Sound Announced

Thursday, 4th April 2019

  Killing Eve Wins 6th AMPS TV Drama Award for Excellence in Sound

AMPS has announced the winners of the 6th Annual AMPS awards for excellence in sound for a television drama. The winning TV drama is Killing Eve, produced by Sid Gentle Films for BBC America. The winners will each receive the prestigious AMPS bronze trophy, with certificates of merit going to the crew members who creatively contributed to the winning soundtrack. The AMPS Awards are sponsored by the industry’s top sound experts, including Dolby Laboratories, Sennheiser, Twickenham Studios and Goldcrest

Our warmest congratulations to the winners:

Steven Phillips AMPS
John Lewis Aschenbrenner AMPS
Darren Banks
Tom Williams
Nigel Heath

Killing Eve was shortlisted from hundreds of initial suggestions, put forward by the AMPS membership, which is made up of over 550 sound professionals.

'Killing Eve shows once again that talented sound professionals are a key part of successful drama,' said Rob Walker, AMPS Chairman. 'The team created a polished sound track which supported the comedy and drama of this distinctive show. Our members clearly appreciated their dedication to the craft and our congratulations go to all involved.'

This year, Killing Eve has received industry plaudits across the board for its plot, acting and direction, but AMPS is the only award that solely recognises the talents and contribution of the sound crew to a television drama’s success. Killing Eve has a challenging mix of dialogue, locations, sound effects and music. The award recognises the technical challenges and imagination of the crews to capture and create the tension, drama, sometimes grisly effects and humour that audiences loved.

Sally Woodward Gentle, CEO of Sid Gentle Films and Executive Producer on Killing Eve, said “We are over the moon that the AMPS have made this award to the sound team on Killing Eve. Their work was delicate, thoughtful, brutal, inventive and totally in keeping with the show. And they are a thoroughly charming and decent bunch of people to boot. We are very lucky to have them.”

The shortlisted titles represent some of 2018’s most successful TV dramas:

A Very English Scandal (produced by BBC television, starring Hugh Grant)

Better Call Saul (produced by Sony Pictures Television for Netflix, starring Bob Odenkirk)

Bodyguard (produced by World Productions for the BBC, starring Richard Madden and Keeley Hawes)

Killing Eve (produced by Sid Gentle Films for BBC America, starring Sandra Oh and Jodie Comer)

The ABC Murders (produced by the BBC, starring John Malkovich and Rupert Grint)

The supervising crew members who were responsible for Sound acquisition, Sound Editing and Final Mixing were then verified by the AMPS awards adjudication panel. A final ballot decided the winner. All nominees will receive Nomination Certificates.

A presentation ceremony will be organised at a celebratory event expected in the summer. AMPS wishes all the nominees success at the upcoming BAFTA television awards.


Keep up to date with all the latest News from AMPS and its Members.


Keep track of all AMPS Events, along with other relevant dates for you diary.


AMPS financial and industry supporters help make up our Sustaining Members.


View our Library - Recorded Events, technical papers, video, audio and more.


See a list of items for Sales and Wants by Members.

© 2015 The Association of Motion Picture Sound

Design by Blade Design Ltd. // Build & CMS by E-Simplistic Ltd


Please DO NOT send unsolicited information.

Email me a copy

*- required information


Membership Card

For Administrative reasons, your online Membership Card will not be available until 1st March 2024.
If you need a new card before this date, please contact

Forgotten Your Username or Password?

Please enter your username or email address below and we will email you your login details.