Simon Carroll, Johnnie Burn AMPS, Tarn Willers AMPS, Mateusz Stasuak
Photo: Charlie Burgio Photography


Some news items are only available to logged in Members.

< Back to News



LONDON, 12th September 2021:
For the first time in two years, The Association of Motion Picture Sound (AMPS) was able to honour its annual awards winners at a physical ceremony which was held on Sunday 12th September at The University of Greenwich.  “The Queen’s Gambit” scooped the Excellence in Sound for a Television Drama accolade and “Ronnie’s:  Ronnie Scott and his World- Famous Jazz Club” received Excellence in Sound for a Factual Film. Excellence in a Production Audio Product went to Sound Devices CL 16 Control Surface and Excellence in a Post-Production Audio Product was awarded to Kraken: Dialogue Editor's Toolkit 1.2.

Two new AMPS fellowships were awarded to distinguished Supervising Sound Editor Catherine Hodgson and to Rob Walker, the respected former Chair of AMPS (2018 – 2021)  Fellowships are the highest honours AMPS bestows and they are in recognition of outstanding achievement in Motion Picture Sound and individual endeavours to work for, and uphold the aims of AMPS.
The winning sound team from “The Queen’s Gambit” includes Eric Hoehn, Wylie Stateman, Gregg Swiatlowski, Thomas Wallis and Roland Winke.  The winning sound talent line-up from “Ronnie:  Ronnie Scott and his World-Famous Jazz Club” includes, Claire Ellis, George Foulgham, Andrew Hewitson, Alastair Sirkett.

AMPS Fellow, Catherine Hodgson 
was recommended for the AMPS fellowship by legendary Hollywood Film Editor, Sound Designer and Re-recording Mixer, Walter Murch.  As ahighly respected Supervising Sound Editor for both film and television drama, some of Catherine’s most notable work has garnered a Royal Television Society Award (“The Long Firm” in 2004), two BAFTA Awards (“Our Mutual Friend”, 1999 and “Wallander”,2010), as well as eight additional BAFTA nominations.  Catherine contributed to the “Sound of Story 2016” forum, which was organised by Women in Film and supported by AMPS.   Her career has spanned more than 30 years and other project highlights have included “Atonement”, “Pride and Prejudice” and “Jane Eyre”.  

AMPS Fellow, Rob Walker 
was a popular and unanimous choice to chair the AMPS Council between 2018 and 2021.   Rob's tenure saw a welcome expansion of AMPS activities and a powerful initiative to improve diversity in AMPS and the wider sound community, which he approached with energy, pragmatism and skill.    He also oversaw the welcome expansion of AMPS awards to include factual films and technical excellence in audio products, plus the addition of Key First Assistants Sound (Boom Operators) and Supervising Dialogue/ADR Editors to the team of talent to be recognised.  The Fellowship comes in honour of Rob’s effective and responsible leadership of AMPS governing body, and his diligence and invaluable contributions to the organisation, while he still worked his day job – creating professional sound and music.

Commenting on the 2021 AMPS awards, current Chair, Andrew Wilson said:

“It’s an honour to present the 2021 awards to such talented and worthy winners. The nominations in all the categories were very diverse and any one of them could have taken the honours. I’m also thrilled to present Catherine and Rob with their Fellowships. Each of them has a fantastic track record in the field of film sound as well as having given so much back to the industry.”

The AMPS Awards are sponsored by Dolby Laboratories, Sennheiser and Twickenham Film Studios.


Keep up to date with all the latest News from AMPS and its Members.


Keep track of all AMPS Events, along with other relevant dates for you diary.


AMPS financial and industry supporters help make up our Sustaining Members.


View our Library - Recorded Events, technical papers, video, audio and more.


See a list of items for Sales and Wants by Members.

© 2015 The Association of Motion Picture Sound

Design by Blade Design Ltd. // Build & CMS by E-Simplistic Ltd


Please DO NOT send unsolicited information.

Email me a copy

*- required information


Membership Card

For Administrative reasons, your online Membership Card will not be available until 1st March 2024.
If you need a new card before this date, please contact

Forgotten Your Username or Password?

Please enter your username or email address below and we will email you your login details.